Kyiv, May 09 (RT)-The Group of Seven (G7), which comprises Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK, and US, issued a joint statement blasting Russia’s ongoing military action in Ukraine on Sunday. Moscow was expelled from the collective, then known as the G8, in 2014.

The seven nations vowed to never let Moscow win the “war against Ukraine” and pledged further military and economic support for Kiev.

“We remain united in our resolve that President Putin must not win his war against Ukraine,” the joint statement reads. The document, issued on May 8 – the day most Western nations celebrate the end of WWII in Europe and victory over Nazism – said the G7 nations owe support for Ukraine in “the memory of all those who fought for freedom in the Second World War.”

The G7 accused President Vladimir Putin of bringing “shame on Russia and the historic sacrifices of its people,” as well as violating “the international rules-based order.”

The seven world leaders who took part in Sunday’s summit, along with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky, vowed to provide further financial aid to Ukraine to support both its immediate needs and “long-term recovery and reconstruction.”

The statement says that $24 billion has already been provided and pledged to Ukraine by the international community, while praising the assistance programs launched by the World Bank and the IMF.

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has pledged an additional $50 million in military assistance for Ukraine, and said Ottawa would temporarily lift all trade tariffs on Ukrainian imports.